News & Media

Events & Gatherings

Theatre Network Australia in partnership with Next Wave Festival and Arts Centre Melbourne presents:

2018 Victorian Theatre Forum – IN THE ZONE:
Embracing Place, Savouring Difference and Tackling Taboos

TNA members and Next Wave artists are invited to the ninth annual Victorian Theatre Forum at Arts Centre Melbourne and Testing Grounds. VTF 2018 will challenge the models of social and cultural (non)inclusion, and encourage us to unlock and optimise the often-privileged spaces in which we create, operate and advocate.


9.15am | Registration, Tea & Coffee

9.30am | Session One (The Pavilion)

  • Welcome to Country – Gheran Steel, CEO, Boon Wurrung Foundation
  • Host Welcome – Melanie Smith, Arts Centre Melbourne
  • Round 1: Firecracker Updates
    Speakers include Veronica Pardo (Arts Access Victoria); Chris Mead (Melbourne Theatre Company); Sharon Custers & Christian Leavesley (Arena Theatre Company), Dr Anne Kershaw (Deakin University); Erica McCalman (Next Wave Festival)
  • Keynote: ‘Art$: What do I tell them it costs? Next Wave artists Timmah Ball & Azja Kulpińska (Feminist Zine Wild Tongue) in conversation with Hannah Donnelly (writer, DJ and creator of Sovereign Trax)

10.40am | Morning Tea

11.00am | Session Two (The Pavilion)

  • Ice Breaker
  • Provocations and Breakout Discussions
  • Big Ideas

12.10pm | Lunch (Southbank/Arts Precinct/Flinders Street)

1.05pm | TNA Annual General Meeting

  • Announcement of the TNA Indie SMASH Bursary recipient

1.20pm | Session Three (The Pavilion)

  • Keynote: ‘Arts, Advocacy, Arrogance and Funding – Why arts need to speak differently to government’Neil Pharaoh (Advocacy and government relations consultant)
  • Considered Responses
  • Table Talk

2.40pm | Mini Break

2.50pm | Session Four (The Pavilion)

  • Mini Keynote: ‘Promoting Change’ Nicole Beyer (Theatre Network Australia)
  • Round 2: Firecracker Updates
    Speakers include Annette Madden (Australia Council for the Arts); Paul Rae (University of Melbourne); Devon Taylor (Women’s Circus); Jamie Lewis & Bethany Simons (TNA)
  • Who’s New in the Zoo?
  • Plenary Discussion
  • Note to self
  • Wrap Up

4.00pm | Depart Pavilion and relocate to Testing Grounds

4.15pm | Fireside Yarns (Testing Grounds)

  • Drinks, Yarning, Fire Pits, Next Wave Installations

5.24pm | Ritual’ by Next Wave (artist to be announced)

6.00pm | Finish / Next Wave Festival program continues

VTF 2018 Resources

Resources include training, research, toolkits and more. Links are in three categories: Watch | Listen | Read.


$85 Large/Gov/University
$75 Small to Medium Companies
$45 Employed Independents/Unfunded Companies
$25 Full-time Independents/Next Wave artists

Tea, coffee, morning tea and lunch provided.


*Please note that this event is only open to TNA members, partners and Next Wave artists.


The Pavilion, Arts Centre Melbourne
100 St Kilda Road, Melbourne , VIC 3004

The VTF is Auslan Interpreted, and The Pavilion is a Wheelchair Accessible venue. Babes in arms are welcome.



Adriano Nunes Creative Spaces, City of Melbourne
Alexis Drevikovsky Writers Victoria
Alison Harvey Back to Back Theatre
Alison Richards Black Hole Theatre
Amada Monteiro TNA Volunteer
Amanda Jane Pritchard Independent
Aneke McCulloch Creative Partnerships Australia / Seesault
Angela Conquet Dancehouse Inc
Angela Pamic Arts West / Black Hole Theatre
Anna Seymour Independent
Anna Thomson New Heights Circus
Dr Anne Kershaw Deakin University
Annette Madden Australia Council for the Arts
Annette Vieusseux Lucy Guerin Inc
Azja Kulpińska Next Wave / Independent
Bethany Simons Theatre Network Australia
Caitlin Dullard La Mama
Callista Reed Theatre Network Australia
Candy Mitchell Arts Melbourne, City of Melbourne
Cara Dinley TNA Volunteer / Independent
Cassandra Chatwin-Smith Arts Centre Melbourne
Chloe Weavers Abbotsford Convent Foundation
Dr Chris Mead Melbourne Theatre Company
Cj Fraser-Bell Independent
Claire Bradley Duke Lucy Guerin Inc
Dan Goronszy Independent
Dan Koop Independent
Daniel Clarke Arts Centre Melbourne
Deborah Leiser-Moore Independent
Devon Taylor Women’s Circus
Dianne Touslon Theatre Works
Edwina Lunn Arts Centre Melbourne
Elias Jamieson Brown Independent
Elliott Gee The Very Good Looking Initiative
Emma Hall Independent
Emma Jukic TNA Volunteer
Erica McCalman Next Wave
Erin Adams Union House Theatre
Felicity Green Spark Strategy
Gabriel Kirley Auslan Interpreter
Gemma Robertson VAPAC
Georgie Meyer Punctum
Hannah Donnelly Next Wave
Hannah Strout Independent
Hayley Lawson-Smith Frankston Arts Centre
Heather Morecroft Spark Strategy
Ilana Charnelle Gelbart Auslan Interpreter
J-Maine Beezley Ilbijerri Theatre Company
Jacqueline Hanlin Independent
Jamie Lewis Theatre Network Australia
Jen Tran La Mama
Jenny Ryssenbeek VAPAC
Jerry Remkes Arts Centre Melbourne
Jessica Moody Independent
Joel McGuinness Geelong Performing Arts Centre
Jorjia Gillis Playwriting Australia
Jude Anderson Punctum
Kate Bailey Creative Victoria
Kate Hood Independent
Kate Speakman Monash Uni Student Theatre (MUST)
Kathy Morrison Ilbijerri Theatre Company
Liz Jones La Mama
Lou Oppenheim Circus Oz
Lyn Wallis HotHouse Theatre
Mark Wilkinson Independent
Mary Harvey Arts Centre Melbourne
Meg Upton Arts-in-Sync
Megan Riedl Independent
Melanie Smith Arts Centre Melbourne
Melinda Hetzel Independent
Michele Bauer JMC Academy
Michelle Silby Ausdance Victoria
Mike Mullins OAM Mike Mullins INK
Mish Grigor Next Wave / POST
Natasha Phillips Independent
Nathan Sibthorpe Next Wave / Counterpilot
Neil Pharaoh Pharaoh & Associates
Nicole Beyer Theatre Network Australia
Olivia Allen City of Yarra: Arts and Culture
Paul Heuston Auslan Interpreter
Paul Rae University of Melbourne
Penelope Bartlau Women’s Circus
Pippa Bainbridge Next Wave
Rainbow Sweeny Polyglot Theatre
Reagan Maiquez ALPA/AAPC
Rebecca Jensen Independent
Rhen Soggee Next Wave / Act Now Theatre
Rhian Hinkley Arts Access Victoria
Richard Watts ArtsHub
Romi Kupfer Independent
Rosie Dwyer Regional Arts Victoria
Ru Atma RAWcollective
Samsara Dunston Independent
Sara Strachan Independent
Sarah Greentree Chunky Move
Sarah Lockwood Drop Bear Theatre
Scott Gooding Independent
Selene Bateman Auspicious Arts Projects Inc
Sharon Custers Arena Theatre Company
Shaun Larkin Creative Victoria
Simon Bowland Independent
Simon Piening Independent
Simone Schinkel Theatre Network Australia
Sue Doyle Creative Victoria
Susannah Day Next Wave
Tamara Jungwirth Gasworks Arts Park
Tara Ellis Creative Victoria
Tim Stitz Chamber Made
Timmah Ball Next Wave / Independent
Tobias Manderson-Galvin MKA Theatre of New Writing
Vanessa Chapple Independent
Vanessa Pigrum Chunky Move
Vanessa Wright Independent
Veronica Pardo Arts Access Victoria
Victoria Jones Creative Victoria
Wahibe Moussa Independent
Xanthe Beesley Union House Theatre
Yvonne Virsik Monash Uni Student Theatre (MUST)

Photography by: Matthew Henry Instagram: @oakandink

More Related Posts

Events & Gatherings

Events & Gatherings

Events & Gatherings