TNA’s Board is an Industry Board, primarily made up of representatives of arts organisations and independent artists. There are currently eleven members, drawn from across the country, who are governed by TNA’s Rules of Association
Headshot of Erica McCalman



Erica is a Ballardong Noongar woman with Irish Convict, Scottish and Cornish Heritage. A creative producer, facilitator and curator, she works across experimental and contemporary performing arts. Through her consultancy, Art Oracle, Erica seeks to empower independent artists, provide bespoke creative and producing solutions to organisations and nurture the next generation of producers.

Headshot of Sue Giles


Co-Deputy Chair

With over 40 years of experience in the arts industry, Sue was also the Artistic Director of Polyglot Theatre from 2000 - 2022.  She is also currently both the Australian representative and President of ASSITEJ International – the global association of Theatre and Performance for Children and Young People – of which TNA is the Australian host and secretariat. In 2019 she was honoured as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM).

Headshot of Sam Routledge


Co-Deputy Chair

Cassie is an experienced policy and advocacy adviser. She has held policy and strategy roles at Social Ventures Australia; the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet; the Victorian Department of Premier and Cabinet; Grattan Institute; and as an adviser to a federal Cabinet Minister. She holds a Masters in Public Policy degree from Princeton University.

Headshot of Lou Oppenheim



Lou is a highly experienced strategic leader with more than 18 years’ experience in the performing arts and is passionate about connecting artists with audiences through the power of live performance, community engagement and the development of the next generation of artists and arts workers. She is the Executive Director of Sydney Dance Company, with previous roles including Director of Production & Events at Sydney Opera House, Create Infrastructure Senior Manager (Create NSW), General Manager of Circus Oz and Director of Operations of Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.

Headshot of Caroline Bowditch


Caroline is currently CEO at Arts Access Victoria, and was previously living and working in the UK for 16 years. She is an international artist, teacher, and speaker, and has held roles such as Scottish Dance Theatre’s Dance Agent for Change, Associate Artist with Paragon Music (Glasgow), Dance4 (Nottingham) and Imaginate (Scotland), and was Visiting Professor at Coventry University.

Headshot of Harley Mann


Harley Mann is a Waka Waka man from Melbourne Victoria. He has been in and amongst the circus community for the past 15 years working as a student, trainer, performer and director. Harley is also a current member of Casus Circus featuring as a cast member in their all first nations production ‘Chasing Smoke’. In 2017 Harley developed his own independent circus company ‘Na Djinang Circus’ and was a lead creative of their most recent work ‘Common Dissonance’. This company hopes to establish itself as one of the world’s leading circus accompanies that challenges the stereotypes of contemporary circus, an inclusive company that creates equitable access to the industry and doesn’t marginalise young performers. 

Headshot of Zainab Syed


Zainab Zahra Syed is a creative producer and poet. From 2017-2021 Zainab produced and toured ambitious new works of scale by independent theatre and dance artists at Performing Lines WA. Zainab is Deputy Chair of The Blue Room Theatre board, leading their Equity Action Strategy & Plan 2021-2024. She is also a founder of Pakistan Poetry Slam (2015), co-founder of illUMEnate, a diverse arts collective in WA (2016), a Humanitarian Observer with the Australian Red Cross Immigration Detention Program and a 2020 Churchill Fellow. In July 2021, Zainab joined Belvoir St Theatre as a Producer.

Headshot of Nithya Nagarajan


Nithya Nagarajan is a contemporary performance maker and curator working across Australia and the Asia Pacific. She has 12 years’ experience in programming, creative producing, international engagement and transformative justice in the arts. Nithya is currently co-Artistic Director of Arts House.

Headshot of Andrea James

Alex Desebrock

Alex Desebrock is an independent artist based Whadjuk Noongar land (Perth), Australia. Her work spans interactive theatre, live art, installations, online and public interventions. She is the lady behind Maybe (   ) Together and a founder of FLOCK.

Headshot of Liesel Zink

Liesel Zink

Liesel Zink is an award-winning Independent choreographer of Ukrainian and German descent living in Meajin/Brisbane. Interested in the intersection of contemporary dance and community engagement she has developed and presented work around Australia, Asia and Eastern Europe using her artistic process as a means for artistic, cultural and intergenerational exchange. More broadly, Liesel is a dramaturge, facilitator, producer and advocate seeing her engage with a range of independent artists and organisations including Performing Lines, Force Majeure, Tasdance, LINK, Expressions Dance Company, M.A.D.E., Supercell, DRILL, Co3 Youth, and Stompin Youth.

Headshot of Carin Mistry

Carin Mistry

Carin is the Executive Producer of Hobart based Mature Artists Dance Experience (MADE), and has an extensive background in the performing arts, film and television. After relocating from the UK she worked in a range of leadership, program and policy development roles for the Australia Council for the Arts from 1997 to 2015, including Director of Dance for seven years. Following this she was the Executive Director of Australian Plays - a national organisation providing essential services to playwrights and the Australian theatre industry.

Headshot of Tim Stitz

TIM Stitz

Tim is the Executive Director and Co-CEO of Back to Back Theatre in Geelong. Previously he was Creative Director and CEO of Chamber Made from 2013–2018 and led the fundraising for the rebuild of La Mama Theatre, following the devastating fire in 2018. He has also worked at Arts Centre Melbourne and Creative Partnerships Australia.

Thank you

TNA acknowledges the vital contribution of former board members: Simon Abrahams (Co-founder & Chair 2010-2017), Gorkem Acaroglu, Sarah Austin (Co-founder), Maude Davey (Co-founder), Robyn Gawenda, Rose Godde (Co-founder), Ben Graetz, John Harvey, Andrea James, Catherine Jones, Lorraine Kambala (Observer), Fiona Maxwell (Co-founder & Chair 2009-2010), Chris Mead, Erin Milne (Co-founder), Alice Nash (Co-founder & Deputy Chair 2009-2017), Veronica Pardo, Sam Routledge, Emily Sexton, Jill Smith (Chair 2018 - 2022), Brad Spolding, Chris Thompson (Co-founder), Ann Tonks, Annette Vieusseux, Lyn Wallis and Geoffrey Williams (Co-founder).